The “Mighty” Southern Region

The Southern Region traces its origins to 1929 when Roberta F. Bell was elected as the National First Anti-Basileus.

Between 1937 and 1943, the Southern Region grew into the largest region in the sorority. It still bears the name it was given during these years, “The Mighty Southern Region”, because it was so strong and gave such excellent leadership to the national body.

Many of the projects undertaken by the Southern Region were adopted by the national body, and the national body has grown with many of the ideas initiated in the Southern Region.

Keisha M. Beasley – Regional Director

Soror Beasley is a diamond life member of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated. On the National level, she served as National Trustee and as an appointed member of the undergraduate advisory committee. On the Regional level, Soror Beasley served as Undergraduate Member-at-Large and Regional Nominating Committee Member. She served as East Texas state director for four years.

Sha’Terra D. Johnson – East Texas State Director

Soror Sha’Terra D. Johnson became a member of the Sorority in Spring 2008 through the Psi Delta Chapter at Stephen F. Austin State University; currently an active member of Sigma Tau Zeta Chapter in Lufkin/Nacogdoches, Texas where she was Chapter President 2014-2016. She has 10 years of uninterrupted membership to the Sorority on all levels and has served as the elected Southern Region Public Relations Coordinator.